Boards & Committees

The Town of Valdese encourages active participation of its citizens in the development and preservation of the community. Several boards and committees have been established to allow for the sharing of ideas among a diverse section of the population and local officials.

Arbor Beautification Committee:
Members: Lu Griffin, Sandi Walker, Keith Ogle, Ronnie Pruitt, Rose Mueller, Theresa Pizzelanti
Ex-Officio Member: Burke County Agricultural Extension Officer

Citizens for Affordable Housing:
Members: Miriam Vaught, Frances Hildebran, Sheena Williams, Jean Dalmas
Advisory Members: Marc Mitchell, Sherry Long, Larry Johnson

Downtown Revitalization Committee:
Members: Chuck Moseley, Rick McClurd, Tim Skidmore, Annette Brinkley, Lu Griffin, Gary Bowman, Ronnie Pruitt, Keith Ogle

Firefighters' Relief Fund Board of Trustees:
Ed Plemmons, Mark Rostan, Charles Watts, Lew Edwards, Morrissa Angi

North Carolina Valdese Main Street Program:  
Organizational Committee Members: Carla Berry, Libby Braswell, Roy Sweezy, David Wronko
Town Liaison: Morrissa Angi
Meetings held monthly at the Old Rock School the first Thursday at 5:30pm. *Subject to change  

Western Piedmont Sister Cities Association:
Chuck Moseley, Morrissa Angi

Valdese ABC Board:
Seth Eckard, WT Sorrell, John Heilman

Housing Authority:
Rev.Tim Hordlt, Dan Hoyle, Faith Kaplan, Willie "Butch" Pascal, Maryann Diamond

Planning Board/Board of Adjustments:
John Rostan, Scott Watts, Roy Sweezy, Paul Mears, Carly Caruso
Alternatives: Libby Braswell, Barry Zimmerman

Public Arts Commission:
Linda Rostan, Marc Mitchell, Hamilton Williams, Elizabeth Furr, Greg Mastin, Gretchen Costner, J. Andrew Thompson

Parks & Recreation Commission:
Robert Murray, Nancy Tucker, Grayson Turner, Beth Heile, J. Andrew Thompson, Donnie Edwards, Cindy Powell

Tourism Commission:
Seth Eckard, Gretchen Costner, Freddy Leger, Director of Burke County Tourism, Edyth Pruitt, Elizabeth Furr, Downtown Merchant Representative, Trail of Faith Representative, Valdese Heritage Arts Center Representative, P&W Railroad Museum Representative 
Meetings held quarterly at the Old Rock School on the second Wednesday at 3:30pm. *Schedule subject to change

Valdese Economic Development Corporation:
TR Robinson, Rick McClurd, Forrest Fleming, Keith Ogle, Seth Eckard, Christian Ramazzini, Dr. Kevin Frederick

Valdese Youth Council: New Member Packet
Alex Hoover, Gillian Abee-Freeze, Hannah Johnson, Trey Blackwood
Town Liaison: Madeleine Epley


Copyright © 2020 Town of Valdese. Developed by VanNoppen.